(005) Heathrow

The flight from SFO to Heathrow was 10.5 hours and I’m deathly afraid of flying.  My only comfort was looking at the video screen on the headrest in front of me.  You can see the map in real time to show where you are.  You can also view flight information (speed, altitude, heading, etc).  I left it on the detailed, flight-information view throughout the flight, just to keep an eye on what the pilot was doing.  Hey…why did we suddenly drop down to 32,000 feet from 35,000 feet?  Why are we all of a sudden going 602 miles an hour instead of the 644 miles an hour that we’ve been travelling at?  The questions went unanswered but I was comforted in knowing that things seemed to be going fine.  There was absolutely no turbulence and the flight was rather un-eventful.  As I stated before, I do not fly so I don’t know what the rules are.  Do they feed you? Do you have to pay? Do you have to tip? When can I go pee?  So many questions.  Well, I found out they do feed you and I enjoyed a dish of “chicken tikka”…whatever that is.

I also found out that you do not tip on the airplane…later I asked for a coke and I sheepishly told the gentleman that I don’t ever fly and I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to tip.  He looked down at me, over the top of his eyeglasses and in his proper British accent he stated, “no, need to tip on the airplane, and most definitely never on British Airways”.  Then he kind of tipped his hat and wheeled his cart away.  I don’t know if what he said was true, but I felt mildly offended. haha.

Had lunch at the airport…there was a little airport restaurant called “Giraffe”.  Figured I better get a cheezeburger.  I didn’t remember at the time the whole mad-cow-disease…is that still a thing?  Anyway, the burger was disgusting…the meat was like…paste….a light tan/brown/gray paste with cheese melted on top holding everything together. 😦

Also, I’ve only known one person with a British accent and she’s been in the states long enough that it’s kinda wearing off.  Well…there was another person through work, but I didn’t converse much with her.
It was awesome for this non-traveler to hear them all speaking in their cool little accents. LOL.  I’m easily amused.

 

flight-to-heathrow
Underneath this calm, cool, collected exterior I’m actually scared out of my wits of flying.

 

flight-pathSFO to London…10.5 hours…not too shabby.  Even flew over glorious Montana!!

 

heathrow-airportThe big-ass plane I just got off of.

 

smokeI know, I know…smoking is bad for you. After 10.5 hours on a death trap at 36,000 feet in the sky I needed one.  I’m a smoker so 10.5 hours between smokey-breaks is quite an ordeal for me….after 2 drags I swear i was a little bit high…if you know what i mean.

 

Leave a Reply

