(024) I’m not racist…but…

LOL…I love it when my white brothers and sisters start their upcoming diatribe with those words…”I’m not racist..but…”
It’s code for…let me tell you what I don’t like about a certain race. LOL.

Anyway, I’m not racist but this is kinda cool/crazy/weird.  I grew up in Northern Montana with Native Americans and Caucasians…not a lot of other races there.
montana

So I know how it feels to be generalized or stereotyped.  I’m used to it.  What follows may be a generalization but it’s just my observation while I’ve been out here.

In the US you meet people (white) and they always have a cool story. “well, on my mom’s side my grandfather was Irish and my grandmother was German, on my father’s side we’re a Heinz 57, Swedish, Italian, German and I think my great grandmother was a Cherokee princess”  I never know how to respond to these comments, I guess a response is not needed.  It’s just their way of validating who they are?  It’s easy for me and my type of people….well…my grandparents were native american and so were their parents/etc.

Now onto my “I’m not racist, but” comment.  A majority of the people out here have really strong identifying facial features.  I mean, they’re not all identical but you can definitely tell that they’re Northern European people.  Back home, a lot of my white friends are just…white.  Kind of a random, generic looking whiteness.  Nothing wrong with that, please don’t think I’m saying that there’s anything wrong with it.  The USA is the great melting pot of the world and we should be proud of that.  Some people can easily trace their roots back to a specific part of the world and others don’t know or don’t care.  But I do have some contacts back home, contractors, engineers, just random friends who now I feel I can recognize as looking very “Northern European”.

I was in Tallinn and later in Helsinki and just saw so many people that looked very “similar”.  Maybe because I’m new here, just visiting, just passing-through and without spending so much time I’m falling into that trap where somebody says “well..they all look the same to me”.  Maybe if i spent more time here I’d be able to fully discern the subtle differences of the local/native people out here.

P.S.  Everyone has their idea of beauty and there have been scientific studies done about proportions and geometry of the human face and what people tend to think is beautiful…having said that, it’s weird…there seems to be a lot of naturally beautiful people out here.  Maybe it’s the fresh air and clean living?  I don’t know.  Feel free to comment and call me a racist. 🙂

P.P.S.  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  We’re all beautiful in our own ways.  Be nice today and tell your husband/wife/mother/daughter/friends/etc that they’re beautiful.

3 thoughts on “(024) I’m not racist…but…

  1. Too big of a fear of sounding racist. This is pretty true for the most part and it makes sense. People from different geographic regions tend to have similar features.

    Native Americans have similar features. Africans have similar features, Swedes have similar features, etc. There’s nothing negative about that whatsoever. If you said “They all have a trait that I don’t like” then you might be bordering that LOL.

    That said, I’ve noticed the same thing. I worked with a lot of Eastern Europeans at my last job and noticed the same thing. I couldn’t quite place what it was though. A jaw line? Their hair? Maybe it was just the way they handled themselves, their mannerisms, etc. What do I know, I’m just a white guy who doesn’t know his family’s roots? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talking about studies there is one about how facial features and teeth changes over time based on your nutrition…so eat well or your legacy will be ugly lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

